“Chillin’ On a Dirt Road”

“You never know where you’ll end up, so you have to be prepared for every kind of situation.”

“We’ve been walking for hours!  I don’t even think they know where the fuck we’re going,” Jason complained to himself, though I was still able to hear him.  I looked back at dad and the Corporal – one of his soldiers – but they looked like they hadn’t even heard Jason, thank gosh.  Even so, I was still a bit bothered when I saw them.  Jason and I were practically dragged ourselves along the heated dirt, yet those two looked like this was just a morning hike that they were enjoying.  Well, to them it was probably was.

Jason was right though.  We had been walking for hours and this road seemed like it was nowhere close to ending.  Everything just looked like a sorry stretch of land to us at this point.  Our feet were already raw and forming blisters, we had run out of water, and the only reason we were even going the direction we were is because “according to the compass, that’s the direction we need to go”.  Well, at least that’s what dad said.

“If we were going in the right direction, shouldn’t we have run into a cottage or farm or even an outhouse by now?” I asked to no one in particular and nervously picked at my nails.

“You never know, because in these situations, the ‘right direction’ may not even be the right direction,” Corporal Stenson advised, more than likely putting a smile on dad’s face.

“Thank you so very much for that, Mr. Fortune Cookie,” I sarcastically remarked.  To my dismay, all they did was laugh.

My muscles were becoming more sore by the minute and I really didn’t want to walk anymore.  Yes, dad loved training us and I loved training the majority of the time, but this was just boring and was taking way too long.

“Can we go home now?  I think we’ve trained long enough, sir,” I asked my dad.

“I dunno, Laur.  Maybe he was planning on having us spend the night out here, camouflaged in the trees as we take turns napping on branches, like Katniss in Hunger Games,” Jason joked, though he sounded half scared and nervous.

“Katniss, my ass.  I’m not sleeping out here,” I declared.

“Just calm down.  Take a left at the split between the fields and we’ll be home in no time,” our dad chuckled, clearly making fun of our mini little quarrel.  “I’m sure your mother and Stenson’s wife will have a good home-cooked meal ready for us by the time we get there.”

Jason and I exchanged relieved looks.  We couldn’t wait to get home.


The “Need to Know”:

I’ll be blogging with The Monarchs (if you don’t know who they are, check out my Monarchs page) as soon as they have their blogs finished, but I just wanted to post this to give you guys a post involving more of Laura’s backstory.

This blog may have a few PG-13 words and themes thrown around occasionally, but most of it is perfectly PG.

The title of this post was inspired by Jason Aldean’s song Dirt Road Anthem (which I love).

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog! Hope you enjoy reading it!